Skip to main content
Industries

The rules and risks of your industry, across borders.

Licences, value chains and the questions businesses in each industry ask first, with the services that usually apply.

Ask about your industry

Licences, approvals and first steps.

Ask WONE Global what applies to your industry in a market, with the sources shown.

Ask WONE Global→
People & firms

The WONE Global Partners in each market.

Named senior professionals, each admitted as the one firm for a service in their country, and the firms they lead.

For professional firms

Lead your service in your market.

One Partner per service, per country, admitted by review against published criteria.

Open Partnerships→
Insights

Sourced answers on doing business across borders.

Every statement is dated and sourced, and says whether it has been checked or professionally reviewed.

Ask WONE Global

Ask your question.

Answers come from statements checked against official sources, with the sources shown. Research, not advice.

Ask WONE Global→

Trade marks, patents and brands · Knowledge centre · 01 of 6

Trade mark registration

Trade marks are territorial: a UK, US or Indian registration protects only in that country, and the EU trade mark covers all EU Member States in one right. Brand owners choose between direct national filings, an EU trade mark, and international registration through the Madrid System, which now includes Saudi Arabia from 8 October 2026. Official fees, examination practice and opposition periods differ, and foreign applicants in the US must use a US attorney.

Source-checked research100% of statements checked against a source93 checked against an official source7 checked against a secondary sourceChecked 2026-10-19Not yet professionally reviewed

Trade marks are territorial: a UK, US or Indian registration protects only in that country, and the EU trade mark covers all EU Member States in one right. Brand owners choose between direct national filings, an EU trade mark, and international registration through the Madrid System, which now includes Saudi Arabia from 8 October 2026. Official fees, examination practice and opposition periods differ, and foreign applicants in the US must use a US attorney.

National and regional filings

The UK IPO charges GBP 205 online for one class and GBP 60 for each additional class, examines within 2 to 3 weeks, publishes for a two-month opposition period and usually registers in about 3 to 4 months if there are no objections or oppositions. The EUIPO's EU trade mark costs EUR 850 for one class, EUR 50 for the second and EUR 150 for each further class, and gives a single all-or-nothing right across the EU for ten years.

In the United States the USPTO base fee is USD 350 per class, applications can be based on use or a bona fide intention to use (registration then waits for a verified statement of use), and applicants domiciled outside the US must be represented by a US-qualified attorney. India, where marks are governed by the Trade Marks Act 1999, charges INR 9,000 per class for e-filing (INR 4,500 for individuals, startups and small enterprises). The UAE protects a registered mark for ten years from filing across the mainland and free zones, with a 30-day opposition period; a 2025 Cabinet Resolution set the application fee at AED 750 per class, according to a law-firm summary.1234567891011121314

The Madrid System and priority

The Madrid Protocol lets an applicant extend a home application or registration to other members through one international application. The WIPO basic fee is CHF 653 (CHF 903 in colour), plus CHF 100 per designated member and per class beyond three, unless a member charges an individual fee. A UK-based application must be identical to the UK basic mark and carries a GBP 50 UK IPO handling fee. The UK, US, India and UAE are members, Saudi Arabia joined with effect from 8 October 2026, and from 1 October 2026 US-based applicants file through WIPO's Madrid e-Filing service.

The Paris Convention lets an applicant claim the filing date of a first application in another member country; Singapore, for example, allows trade mark priority within 6 months of the first filing. Filing first at home and then abroad within the priority period protects against third parties filing in between.15161718192021222324

Official trade mark filing fees and terms12556711121415
MarketOfficeOfficial feeTermSource
United KingdomUK IPOGBP 205 online for one class; GBP 60 per extra class10 years, renewableGOV.UK
EUEUIPOEUR 850 one class; EUR 50 second; EUR 150 each further10 years, renewableEUIPO fees as restated by the Austrian Patent Office
United States (federal)USPTOUSD 350 per class (base)Not researched hereUSPTO
India (central)IP IndiaINR 9,000 per class e-filing; INR 4,500 for individuals, startups, small enterprisesNot researched hereIP India
UAE (federal)Ministry of Economy and TourismAED 750 per class (secondary source)10 years from filingFederal Decree-Law 36 of 2021; law-firm summary
InternationalWIPO Madrid SystemCHF 653 basic plus designation feesDepends on designationsWIPO

Decisions to make

  • Which markets matter now and within the next five years?2612Rights are territorial, and non-use for five years can lead to cancellation in the UAE (and revocation in Singapore), so filing everywhere is not free of risk.
  • National filings, an EU trade mark or Madrid?41516Madrid reduces paperwork but depends on the basic mark; the EU trade mark is all-or-nothing across the EU.
  • Is the mark distinctive and clear of earlier rights?27313Descriptive or similar marks are refused or opposed; some offices do not search for earlier marks themselves.
  • Will the US filing be based on use or intent to use?8An intent-to-use mark is not registered until a verified statement of use is filed.

Documents usually needed

  • Clear representation of the mark (word, logo, colour claim if any)
  • Specification of goods and services by Nice class
  • Priority document details where claiming an earlier filing
  • Power of attorney for local agents, and a US attorney where the applicant is domiciled abroad
  • Evidence of use, for US use-based filings and later renewals

Common mistakes

  • Launching under a brand before checking it is available in each target market
  • Filing a Madrid application with a specification wider than the basic mark
  • Missing the priority window after the first filing
  • Paying unofficial invoices that imitate office fee demands
  • Registering and then not using the mark for five years

Questions businesses ask

Can I cover the UK with an EU trade mark?

No. The EU trade mark covers EU Member States only; the UK needs its own registration, directly or through Madrid.4117

Can Saudi Arabia be designated through Madrid?

Yes. The Protocol entered into force for Saudi Arabia on 8 October 2026.21

Do offices send invoices after filing?

The German office warns that it does not send invoices or payment requests and that private companies send misleading demands; treat unsolicited invoices with caution in every market.28

What this guide does not yet confirm

These points need checking with a qualified local professional before you rely on them.

  • The EUIPO fee page could not yet be checked; EU fees are taken from the Austrian Patent Office's restatement.
  • UAE fees under Cabinet Resolution No. 102 of 2025 come from a law-firm briefing; the Ministry page could not yet be checked.
  • USPTO surcharges and official processing times were not confirmed; no official timings were found for the EUIPO, USPTO, IP India or the UAE.
  • Madrid individual fees for the UK, US, India, UAE and Saudi Arabia, and whether the EU can be designated, were not confirmed.
  • Saudi Arabia's national trade mark fees under SAIP were not researched.

Sources and review status

Each statement is numbered to the source it was checked against. We use official sources where we can, and each statement says whether it was checked against an official or a secondary source. Sources last checked on 19 October 2026. None of it has been professionally reviewed yet: it is research checked against official and secondary sources by WONE Global, not legal or tax advice.

  1. Filing a UK trade mark application online costs £205 for one class plus £60 for each additional class; a paper application costs £250 for one class plus £60 per additional class. UK IPO fees. The optional Right Start route costs £125 plus £30 per additional class for an initial check, and the same again to continue.

    Intellectual Property Office (GOV.UK) — Register a trade mark: Apply · Fees · Checked 19 October 2026 · Checked against an official source · Not yet professionally reviewed

    Reused from gb-ip-g02.

  2. If there are no objections or oppositions, a UK trade mark application usually takes around 3 to 4 months from filing to registration. Indicative timing stated by the UK IPO; objections or oppositions extend it.

    Intellectual Property Office (GOV.UK) — Register a trade mark · Overview · Checked 19 October 2026 · Checked against an official source · Not yet professionally reviewed

    Reused from gb-ip-g03.

  3. The UK IPO sends an examination report within 2 to 3 weeks of filing; an accepted application is published in the Trade Marks Journal, and anyone may oppose it during a 2-month period. Whether and how the opposition period can be extended is not stated on this page.

    Intellectual Property Office (GOV.UK) — Register a trade mark: After you apply · Examination; publication and opposition · Checked 19 October 2026 · Checked against an official source · Not yet professionally reviewed

    Reused from gb-ip-g04.

  4. An EU trade mark obtained from the EUIPO through one application gives uniform protection throughout the EU, including France, on an all-or-nothing basis; the basic filing fee is EUR 850 for 10 years' protection for one mark. Renewal was not stated on the page opened. National French marks are an alternative or complement.

    European Union Intellectual Property Office (EUIPO) — Where to register · EU trade mark · Checked 19 October 2026 · Checked against an official source · Not yet professionally reviewed

    Reused from fr-ip-005.

  5. An EU trade mark filed online with the EUIPO costs EUR 850 for one class, EUR 50 for the second class and EUR 150 for each class from the third. EUIPO fees for e-filing; a paper filing costs EUR 1,000 for one class.

    Austrian Patent Office (Österreichisches Patentamt) — EU trademark · Fees · Checked 19 October 2026 · Checked against a secondary source · Not yet professionally reviewed

    Official page of a national IP office restating EUIPO fees; the EUIPO fee page itself could not yet be checked.

  6. An EU trade mark is valid for ten years from registration and can be renewed for further ten-year periods. EU trade marks registered by the EUIPO.

    Austrian Patent Office (Österreichisches Patentamt) — EU trademark · Term of protection · Checked 19 October 2026 · Checked against a secondary source · Not yet professionally reviewed

    Official page of a national IP office restating EUIPO fees; the EUIPO fee page itself could not yet be checked.

  7. The USPTO base application fee is USD 350 for each class of goods or services included in a trademark application. Federal. Additional fees can apply at filing and during examination; the surcharges were not stated on the page opened.

    United States Patent and Trademark Office — How much does it cost? · Base application fee · Checked 19 October 2026 · Checked against an official source · Not yet professionally reviewed

    The page was last updated 18 January 2025; it does not state an effective date for the fee.

  8. A US federal trademark application can be based on existing use of the mark in commerce or on a bona fide intention to use it; an intent-to-use mark is not registered until the applicant files a verified statement that the mark is in use. Federal (Lanham Act). Filings under 15 USC 1126 (foreign registrations) and Madrid Protocol extensions follow separate rules.

    Legal Information Institute, Cornell Law School — 15 US Code 1051 - Application for registration; verification · Subsections (a), (b) and (d) · Checked 18 October 2026 · Checked against an official source · Not yet professionally reviewed

    Statutory text read on the Cornell Legal Information Institute reproduction of the United States Code; the official text is published at uscode.house.gov. Reused from us-ip-001.

  9. Trademark applicants, registrants and parties whose domicile is outside the United States must be represented before the USPTO by an attorney qualified to practise under USPTO rules. Federal; trademark matters before the US Patent and Trademark Office.

    Legal Information Institute, Cornell Law School — 37 CFR 2.11 - Applicants, registrants, or parties to a proceeding whose domicile is not located within the United States or its territories · Section 2.11(a) · Checked 18 October 2026 · Checked against an official source · Not yet professionally reviewed

    Regulatory text read on the Cornell Legal Information Institute reproduction of the Code of Federal Regulations; the eCFR at ecfr.gov is the government version. Reused from us-ip-002.

  10. Trade marks are governed by the Trade Marks Act 1999 (Act No. 47 of 1999), in force since 15 September 2003 and amended up to Act No. 18 of 2023. Central law; the Trade Marks Rules 2017 apply to procedure.

    World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO Lex) — The Trade Marks Act, 1999 (Act No. 47 of 1999, as amended up to Act No. 18 of 2023) · Legislation details · In force from 15 September 2003 · Checked 18 October 2026 · Checked against an official source · Not yet professionally reviewed

    Reused from in-ip-005.

  11. The official fee for a trade mark application on Form TM-A is INR 4,500 per class for e-filing (INR 5,000 on paper) for an individual, startup or small enterprise, and INR 9,000 per class for e-filing (INR 10,000 on paper) in all other cases. Central; fee applies for each class and each mark. Renewal on Form TM-R is INR 9,000 per class for e-filing.

    Office of the Controller General of Patents, Designs and Trade Marks (IP India) — Forms and Official Fees (Trade Marks) · Form TM-A; Form TM-R · Checked 19 October 2026 · Checked against an official source · Not yet professionally reviewed

  12. A UAE trademark registration under Federal Decree-Law No. 36 of 2021 protects the mark for ten years from the filing date, renewable for similar periods; the Decree-Law has applied since 2 January 2022. Federal; applies across the UAE including free zones.

    Ministry of Economy and Tourism — Federal Decree-Law No. 36 of 2021 on Trademarks · Articles 21(1) and 61 · In force from 2 January 2022 · Checked 18 October 2026 · Checked against an official source · Not yet professionally reviewed

    Reused from ae-ip-001.

  13. Interested parties may oppose a published trademark application within 30 days of publication. Federal.

    Ministry of Economy and Tourism — Federal Decree-Law No. 36 of 2021 on Trademarks · Article 15(2) · In force from 2 January 2022 · Checked 18 October 2026 · Checked against an official source · Not yet professionally reviewed

    Reused from ae-ip-002.

  14. Cabinet Resolution No. (102) of 2025 set a new UAE trademark fee schedule, with a trademark application fee of AED 750 per class and a 50% reduction for SMEs registered under the National Program for SMEs. Federal. Reported to take effect 60 days after Official Gazette publication; a one-day examination service is listed at AED 2,250 and an opposition at AED 7,500.

    ATB Legal (law firm briefing) — UAE Introduces New Trademark Fee Regime: What Businesses and IP Owners Need to Know · Fee table · Checked 19 October 2026 · Checked against a secondary source · Not yet professionally reviewed

    Secondary source; the Ministry of Economy and Tourism service page could not yet be checked, and no separate registration fee was stated in the briefing.

  15. An international trade mark application under the Madrid System carries a WIPO basic fee of CHF 653 for a black and white mark or CHF 903 for a mark in colour, plus a complementary fee of CHF 100 per designated member and a supplementary fee of CHF 100 per class beyond three, unless the member charges an individual fee instead. All fees are paid in Swiss francs. Applicants from least developed countries receive a 90% reduction in the basic fee. Office of origin handling fees are additional.

    World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) — Filing International Trademark Applications: WIPO Fees and Payments · Fees · Checked 19 October 2026 · Checked against an official source · Not yet professionally reviewed

  16. An international trade mark application filed through the UK IPO under the Madrid Protocol must be identical to the applicant's UK application or registration, and costs a £50 UK handling fee plus WIPO fees that depend on the countries designated. The UK IPO page says Madrid can cover over 130 countries. A UK registration does not protect a mark in the EU; EU-wide protection is through an EU trade mark at the EUIPO.

    Intellectual Property Office (GOV.UK) — Protecting your trade mark abroad · Madrid Protocol; European Union · Checked 19 October 2026 · Checked against an official source · Not yet professionally reviewed

    Reused from gb-ip-g07.

  17. The Madrid Protocol entered into force for the United Kingdom on 1 December 1995. UK ratification deposited 6 April 1995.

    World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO Lex) — Madrid Protocol: contracting parties · United Kingdom row · In force from 1 December 1995 · Checked 19 October 2026 · Checked against an official source · Not yet professionally reviewed

    Reused from gb-ip-g08.

  18. The Madrid Protocol entered into force for the United States on 2 November 2003. International trademark registration through WIPO; the USPTO examines US designations.

    World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) — WIPO-Administered Treaties: Contracting Parties, Madrid Protocol · Entry for the United States of America · In force from 2 November 2003 · Checked 18 October 2026 · Checked against an official source · Not yet professionally reviewed

    Reused from us-ip-003.

  19. The Madrid Protocol has been in force for India since 8 July 2013. Instrument deposited 8 April 2013.

    World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO Lex) — India: WIPO Lex member profile · Treaties: Protocol Relating to the Madrid Agreement · In force from 8 July 2013 · Checked 18 October 2026 · Checked against an official source · Not yet professionally reviewed

    Reused from in-ip-003.

  20. The UAE acceded to the Madrid Protocol on the international registration of marks by Federal Decree No. 67 of 2021. Federal.

    Ministry of Economy and Tourism — Federal Decree-Law No. 36 of 2021 on Trademarks · Preamble · Checked 18 October 2026 · Checked against an official source · Not yet professionally reviewed

    Stated in the preamble of the Trademarks Decree-Law; the Ministry's e-services page links to WIPO Madrid e-filing. Not checked against WIPO's own membership page. Reused from ae-ip-004.

  21. Saudi Arabia acceded to the Madrid Protocol on 8 July 2026 and the Protocol entered into force for Saudi Arabia on 8 October 2026, so international trademark applications can now designate Saudi Arabia. Saudi declarations (for example on individual fees or refusal periods) were not visible on the page.

    World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) — WIPO-Administered Treaties: Contracting Parties, Madrid Protocol · Saudi Arabia row · In force from 8 October 2026 · Checked 18 October 2026 · Checked against an official source · Not yet professionally reviewed

    Very recent change; SAIP practice on Madrid designations may still be settling. Reused from sa-ip-002.

  22. From 1 October 2026, international trademark applications based on US filings are filed through WIPO's Madrid e-Filing service. Outbound Madrid applications by owners of US applications or registrations.

    United States Patent and Trademark Office — Madrid Protocol · Notice on the page · In force from 1 October 2026 · Checked 18 October 2026 · Checked against an official source · Not yet professionally reviewed

    Reused from us-ip-004.

  23. The Paris Convention for the Protection of Industrial Property has applied to the United Kingdom since 7 July 1884. The Convention is the basis for priority claims from a first filing in another member state.

    World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO Lex) — Paris Convention: contracting parties · United Kingdom row · In force from 7 July 1884 · Checked 19 October 2026 · Checked against an official source · Not yet professionally reviewed

    Reused from gb-ip-g25.

  24. An applicant who first filed the same trade mark in a Paris Convention or WTO member within the previous 6 months can claim that earlier filing date as priority in Singapore. Applies only where the foreign filing was the applicant's first filing for that mark.

    Intellectual Property Office of Singapore (IPOS) — Introduction to Trade Marks · Claiming priority · Checked 18 October 2026 · Checked against an official source · Not yet professionally reviewed

    Reused from sg-ip-002.

  25. A UK trade mark is registered for ten years from the date of registration and can be renewed for further periods of ten years. Trade Marks Act 1994 s42; renewal procedure in s43. The date of registration is the filing date of the application.

    legislation.gov.uk — Trade Marks Act 1994, section 42 (Duration of registration) · s42(1)-(2) · Checked 19 October 2026 · Checked against an official source · Not yet professionally reviewed

    The statement that the date of registration is the filing date rests on s40(3) of the Act, which could not yet be checked in this run. Reused from gb-ip-g01.

  26. Any interested party may apply to cancel a registered trademark that has not been used for five consecutive years, unless use was prevented by emergency circumstances. Federal.

    Ministry of Economy and Tourism — Federal Decree-Law No. 36 of 2021 on Trademarks · Article 24(3) · In force from 2 January 2022 · Checked 18 October 2026 · Checked against an official source · Not yet professionally reviewed

    Reused from ae-ip-003.

  27. The UK IPO will not register marks that describe the goods or services, are too common or non-distinctive, are offensive or misleading, consist of a generic shape, or use national flags or official emblems without permission; a mark may also be refused if it is the same as or similar to an earlier mark for the same goods or services. Summary of the UK IPO's plain-language guidance on registrability.

    Intellectual Property Office (GOV.UK) — Register a trade mark: What you can and cannot register · Whole page · Checked 19 October 2026 · Checked against an official source · Not yet professionally reviewed

    Reused from gb-ip-g06.

  28. The DPMA warns that it does not send invoices or payment requests for trademark applications or renewals, and that private companies send misleading payment demands.

    Deutsches Patent- und Markenamt (DPMA) — Marken · Hinweis: irreführende Zahlungsaufforderungen · Checked 18 October 2026 · Checked against an official source · Not yet professionally reviewed

    Reused from de-ip-012.

Questions on this topic

28 statements on trade mark registration

WONE Global Intelligence

Ask about trade mark registration

Choose a question or ask your own. Answers draw on WONE Global's market guides, and are set out in clear sections: the answer, the rules, the figures, what it means for you, the risks and who can help.

Intelligence windowWONE Global guides
Context

How answers are set out

  1. The direct answer
  2. The rules that apply, with their sources named
  3. Figures, rates and dates
  4. What it means for you, the risks and the next steps
  5. What is not confirmed, and who can help

Research, not legal or tax advice. Before acting, confirm with a qualified professional in each country involved. Sign in to save an answer.

Contact WONE Global

Discuss your requirement with an WONE Global Partner.